History

The original wood work was replaced or reconditioned as it was in 1859. The Carvers also replaced the 2,000 square feet of antique heart pine flooring with flooring milled from an 1880 cotton mill in Roanoke Rapids. The restoration process also included updating the house with all modern conveniences.

At The Historic Magnolia Manor guests experience true southern hospitality. Magnolia Manor Bed and Breakfast has become the premier destination wedding venue in the North Carolina Piedmont area. The manor house is listed on the U.S. National Register of Historic Places.

Before and After Restoration Photos

The John Watson House

The original manor house was built about 1815.  It stood as a two-bay federal-style farm house on a stone foundation.  The original house consisted of what is now our family room, dining room and the country hall. John Watson acquired the property in the 1830s along with roughly 2,100 acres.

 

In 1859, Watson commissioned the architect Jacob Holt to oversee the Italianate-style overbuild. These additions  included the left and right wings, which contain the Ladies Parlor, the Gentleman’s Parlor, the Grand Hall with magnificent stair case, and the enlargement of rooms upstairs. The overbuild was erected on a brick foundation and gave the home the appearance of a house within a house.  The house deteriorated as it passed from generation to generation, and from owner to owner. The 2,100 acre property was reduced to about 600 acres. Much of the original stone foundation still exists under the house.

 

In addition to the home, there are three outbuildings that are protected by the Historic Association.

The SMOKEHOUSE – A smokehouse or smokery is a building where meat or fish is cured with smoke.

The CORNCRIB – A beautiful ventilated building for storing ears of corn.

The CARRIAGE HOUSE, an outbuilding which was originally built to house horsedrawn carriages.

One more fascinating piece of history: the property has an oak tree that is believed to be over 500 years old!